I was born in the former Yugoslavia and grew up in Belgrade ( Serbia). I´m  a resident of Sweden from 1989.

It´s saids : ” Good pictures will arouse emotions and has a history ” and ” excellent photo has a story” .
I do not really think that each image is ” tell a story “, but I think it has to evoke reaction from the viewer. The reaction can be  joy in beauty, interest in something to learn, sadness , fear, anger , humor, pride , etc, etc. If an image does not evoke some sort of reaction from me, it’s not a good photo (for me) can be a good photo for you.
Photography is extremely subjective to opinion. For me, the concept of ” telling a story ” is quite simple: It ‘s the question that needs to be answered when I should (or someone else might ) ask when I set up the shot : ” Why are you taking this photograph “.  So, bird or flower : Am I taking this photograph to show the beauty of the color or pattern of the birds etc? I do it to show the beauty and power of the bird ? I do it to document parts of their behavior ?  What is it I want to tell ? So the “story ” is set in what I want people (including myself ) to see the picture.
And , people like to cite Anselm Adams. Among the other things said, and “I hope my work will encourage self expression in others and stimulate the search for beauty and creative excitement in the great world around us. “

I’ve been thinking about writing blog in the Swedish language or my native Serbian, but because WordPress is international, I decided to write in English. Then I learned the Swedish language and stopped using the English language, I forgot a large part of the English language.My argument to write in English is: it’s not so important that I write a little weird in English, people will still understand. Actually, I am now poor in all three languages. So, sorry for my poor English. It was really difficult to write as long text  🙂

I think the photo is a universal language that needs no translation.

So, what is the meaning of my blog ? Well, I enjoy photography and wish that you also enjoy having what I see and document (sometimes experiment ) . If you like my work , click on the “like” .

Thank you for visiting my blog.
SONY DSC

About me

About me

Gallery

22 thoughts on “About me

    • Thanks so much for your nice words about my photographs Michael Evans. I’m not specielt “knowledgable” in shooting 🙂 Sometimes I convert to black and white and sometimes I shoot black and white. It is the moments who decide over my thought processes.
      I’m not so good with explaining my photographs and do not think that photography need explanation (perhaps place and time).
      Wish you a good day 🙂

  1. I like your upbeat attitude to life, despite it’s constraints, Srdjana. Like you, I had to retire early (far too early) because of ill health, but at least I have photography and dabbling in poetry to occupy me…You have some lovely images here, I’m glad I came across your blog, keep your spirits up!

    • Thank you Susan 🙂
      Sometimes I am heartbroken and totally “down” but snabt I rise up. This is just one life that we have and I think I live as well as it goes. I do not like to be on different fb pages, forums and the like, and complain that I have pain here and there … this I feel worse. Instead, I quietly when it is the worst, take my camera and go out. However, I understand that others with health problems not have the same attitude.
      Wishing you all the best and thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

      • Srdjana, I am like you, I don’t dwell on my illness, but try to do positive things- and am happy that I am told that I am positive, an inspiration (!) and without self pity…that’s how I like it! I look on things as challenges, and hate to be beaten! but I am having to learn patience!

      • Susan,
        As you say, that ther many challenges but (I believe so) we become stronger afterwards.
        As said: it takes time to learn to live with limitations and there is, as usual, good and bad days.
        There’s a moment about me: I’m older and with age comes a different calmness. If one can not be healthy in the future, there is only one at make: accept.

    • Tack så mycket 🙂
      Den var lite annorlunda i början men jag tyckte att det var onödigt med många detaljer och gjorde lite förändringar.

    • Hvala ti puno Anisja 🙂
      Samo sam zaljubljenica u fotografiju i amater. Volim da kamerom zabelezim zivot oko sebe a onda da to podelim sa drugima. Zelim ti prijatan vikend 🙂

  2. Srdjana, I am so moved by your words about your life. Certainly, you are a beautiful and extraordinary person and I am honoured to meet you here. You have found photography and an art form that gives your life deeper meaning. You are very gifted in how you see life through a camera lens. Your writing is also very poignant. I look forward to visiting your blog again and again. Hope you’re enjoying the Springtime in Sweden. Blessings to you. Michele

    • What beautiful words 🙂 Thanks so much Michele 🙂
      Yes, I am enjoying the spring because here in Sweden we do not have so many warm and bright days. Hope it will be not so much rain that some last year.
      Regards and thanks again 🙂

  3. Your photos are wonderful! Thank you for visiting my blog and bringing me back here! I have been to Sweden and it is a beautiful country with warm and friendly people (despite the cold!) where in Sweden do you live?

    • I do not know what to say in such nice words. Thanks 🙂
      I do not know if I’m courageous…Maybe… I just know that we have one life… and… that if the same is not doing anything life pass…
      Another thing I learned (and much remains to learn): We must look forward, no matter what the length of the road of life is.
      In my case (which is not unique) I have to adapt to the situation and learn to live with the constraints of my illness … there are times when I’m “down” and, like many others, then to avoid another bother with my “bad day”.

  4. Beautiful story. I am a nurse with fibromyalgia but am able to work part-time so have not had to retire yet. I thank God I can do this.
    Your photography is beautiful! I’m glad you started your blog. Very nice!

    • I have more years on sick leave before I retired … I tried to work 4 hours a day, and two hours a day … and unless I have a few other fibromyalgia-related diseases for the skeleton and muscles … it took a lot of time to learn to live with the pain and all that went with fibromyalgia. Unfortunately climate in Sweden is such that nearly half the cold and dark, which is not good for us that we have this “invisible” disease. Photographing helps to physically activate and to feel psychologically better. I am still uncertain with regard to the blog and the photographs placed in its own rhythm.
      I wish you all the best.
      Thanks for your comment 🙂

  5. Thanks so much for a the recent “like” of my blog posts. It lead me to your interesting blog. Although I haven’t traveled much outside of the United States, I love seeing pictures of far-away places. It’s as though I’m right there.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Happy blogging!

    Nancy

    • Many thanks to you too for visiting my blog.
      I have traveled widely and have visited among other Los Angeles. Now, I travel not so often.
      Otherwise I’m just an amateur in photography so I hope that my photography present successful landscape where we live now. Many greetings from Sweden.
      Srdjana

Thank you for visiting and following my blog. I would be very glad to hear your opinion about my photos.

